Boxing Ledger's Archives

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Hasegawa Wins Again, Stops Rocha In 1st Round

From the Associated Press:

KOBE, Japan -- WBC bantamweight champion Hozumi Hasegawa of Japan kept his title by stopping Nestor Rocha of the United States in the first round.

Hasegawa sent Rocha to the canvas twice Tuesday before the referee stopped the bout after 2 minutes, 28 seconds.

This was Hasegawa's ninth title defense. He improved to 27-2, 11 by knockout. Rocha was bidding for his first world title and dropped to 21-2 with seven KOs.

In an earlier bout, Roman Gonzalez of Nicaragua retained his WBA minimumweight crown with a unanimous decision over Katsunari Takayama of Japan.

Save on your martial arts supplies at KarateDepot.com

Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press

2 comments:

INTHEFLESH said...

Hozumi Hasegawa had complete control of the fight,Rocha appeared over cautious and threw only a few punches that were blocked and dodged,Hasegawa was too quik and accurate 4 Rocha.Hasegawa has a laser strait left!

Mike said...

I would like to see Hasegawa fight Agbeko.

Get Your FREE Subscription To The Boxing Ledger Delivered Right To Your Inbox